HDisappointed

any idea what’s up with network TV lately?  for a while there, we were getting many programs in letterbox format, even on standard def (4:3 aspect ratio) TVs.  The Office, 30 Rock, SNL — I’m watching these shows on DVR yesterday, and they’re back to full-screen (4:3) when it was clearly shot in widescreen.  on DVD they make this work with “pan and scan“, which is awkward, but at least you don’t miss the relevant visuals.  with SNL, there was one skit where I was watching only Tim McGraw at a Thanksgiving dinner-table, when clearly I should have been able to see the mental-patient to his left and his wife to his right.

30 Rock and The Office were just as bad, with people talking to people off-screen that clearly should have been on-screen.

I have no problem with black bars on the top/bottom of my screen; I have a huge problem with not being able to see 40% of the action in the shows.  has anyone else notices this, and is there anything we can do about it?

I guess my cable does have HD channels for these shows, and maybe I can watch them on my non-HD TV… or maybe we just need to go HD.  if that’s your recommendation, please send it to my wife.

[dude:  I just hit the FOXHD channel to catch the end of the Redskins game, and even on my non-HD set, it looks much better than the standard definition channel…  looks like a short-term solution.]

1 Comment

Filed under you aren't paying attention

One response to “HDisappointed

  1. Jon and I keep going back and forth on this. I would say that electronics deals are the only thing that could even possibly induce me to brave a store on Black Friday. Of course, if you guys are down on the shore, the lines may be a bit more manageable. I only know that the big box stores would have to come up with one heck of a deal to beat Fry’s every day prices…
    The nice thing is, if you go HD, you may not even need cable, what with all the extra content.

Leave a Reply

