overheard at the Germantown Oktoberfest…

“and I can end the planet in a holocaust
In a holocaust
In a holocaust
In a holocaust
In a holocaust
In a holocaust”

now I realize they were covering a recently popular song (Handlebars by the Flobots), but even if it’s the song they cover the best, they ought to have some sense of context.

perhaps the misguided youth onstage have no idea what World War II was, or the fact that Germans were involved, or the irony of screaming out these lyrics at a festival celebrating German heritage.  they probably think the Bush regime is a ‘holocaust’ and don’t realize that the word has very powerful meaning to other people.  or maybe they get it, and they’re just sticking it to the man.  the rest of their set was all RageAgainstTheMachine-y, so I assume they all just think they’re as smart as Zack de la Rocha.  (that was a joke.  though I have been known to Rage…)

walking out of the park, we passed a middle-aged woman with a shirt that simply read “Blame Republicans”.  I was surprised to hear my wife mutter, “why?  the Democrats are in charge in Congress, seems like they ought to get the blame…”  wow, like words from my own mouth.

and made me think up a t-shirt that I might get printed:

YOUR T-SHIRT
ONLY SERVES TO BROADCAST
YOUR IGNORANCE

of course, I’m not sure what that message sends about the wearer; and I would be stymied if I ran into that guy with the “I’m rubber, your glue…” t-shirt.  man, I hate that guy.

Handlebars video (lyrics below):

I can ride my bike with no handlebars
No handlebars
No handlebars

I can ride my bike with no handlebars
No handlebars
No handlebars

Look at me, look at me
hands in the air like it’s good to be
ALIVE
and I’m a famous rapper
even when the paths’re all crookedy
I can show you how to do-si-do
I can show you how to scratch a record
I can take apart the remote control
And I can almost put it back together
I can tie a knot in a cherry stem
I can tell you about Leif Ericson
I know all the words to “De Colores”
And “I’m Proud to be an American”
Me and my friend saw a platypus
Me and my friend made a comic book
And guess how long it took
I can do anything that I want cuz, look:

I can keep rhythm with no metronome
No metronome
No metronome

I can see your face on the telephone
On the telephone
On the telephone

Look at me
Look at me
Just called to say that it’s good to be
ALIVE
In such a small world
All curled up with a book to read
I can make money open up a thrift store
I can make a living off a magazine
I can design an engine sixty four
Miles to a gallon of gasoline
I can make new antibiotics
I can make computers survive aquatic conditions
I know how to run a business
And I can make you wanna buy a product
Movers shakers and producers
Me and my friends understand the future
I see the strings that control the systems
I can do anything with no assistance
I can lead a nation with a microphone
With a microphone
With a microphone
I can split the atoms of a molecule
Of a molecule
Of a molecule

Look at me
Look at me
Driving and I won’t stop
And it feels so good to be
Alive and on top
My reach is global
My tower secure
My cause is noble
My power is pure
I can hand out a million vaccinations
Or let’em all die in exasperation
Have’em all healed of their lacerations
Have’em all killed by assassination
I can make anybody go to prison
Just because I don’t like’em and
I can do anything with no permission
I have it all under my command
I can guide a missile by satellite
By satellite
By satellite
and I can hit a target through a telescope
Through a telescope
Through a telescope
and I can end the planet in a holocaust
In a holocaust
In a holocaust
In a holocaust
In a holocaust
In a holocaust

I can ride my bike with no handlebars
No handle bars
No handlebars

I can ride my bike with no handlebars
No handlebars
No handlebars

8 Comments

Filed under if you aren't outraged you aren't paying attention, music, politics

8 responses to “overheard at the Germantown Oktoberfest…

  1. Karen

    Well, actually I was thinking about all of the democrats that run Montgomery County and the State of Maryland…

    Signed, the muttering wife

  2. Karen, that’s how things are in PRM. At least it gives you something about which to mutter!

  3. killer

    democrats and republicans…why do we need a two party system anymore? why can’t a candidate run for office based on his or her own platform and not on a steadfast set of “rules” based on a political party’s beliefs?
    it’s no wonder our country sucks..our own leaders cannot take responsibility for their actions (and the consequences of said actions) and they look to blame the other guy.

  4. Karen

    Wow–I agree with Killer! And back to the original point, yeah, it was a little awkward hearing these teenagers screaming “I can end the planet with a holocaust” at Oktoberfest (and it just happened to be right in front of where all of the little kids were painting pumpkins). It was loud.

  5. Rob T

    Thats awesome, the only way it could’ve been better is if you heard that at a Bar Mitsvah(sp).

  6. Pingback: Oktoberfest, part duh « name your fear

  7. WhatGives

    See, this is the most frustrating part of the entire media industry. You get a group like the Flobots who have written a thoughtful, insightful piece of music with a powerful message, and then you get some douchey little idiot screaming about holocausts at Oktoberfest. Where’s the disparity? I feel bad for artists like Johnny 5 who try so hard to get a good message out, only to have it turn around and bite him in the ass because of the ignorance of his audience. Good for him for trying, though — according to the numbers I’ve been reading it seems the youth vote was up this year, and I like to think the Flobots (and others) through their work with Rock the Vote, went a ways towards upping those numbers. Hey kids — LISTEN before you start misquoting songs in front of drunken Germans:

  8. no, you misunderstood.

    they were performing the Flobots song, the whole song; they weren’t taking a specific line out of context to exploit an audience.

    for the record, there were no (zero) drunken Germans present, as you might have seen in my video clip — it was mostly families and children. any beer was in the Beirgarten (sp?) on the other side of the park, with the polka music.

    what is the good message that the thoughtful, insightful Jonny-5 is trying to get out, btw? that he’s “alive”? LOL, I bet 99% of Flobots fans aren’t aware of the Short Circuit reference…

Leave a Reply

