last Clinton thing (tonight)

I know I don’t get a spike in readership when I blog angry stuff about politicians, but I’m dumbfounded by Hillary’s response to Russert’s last question:

MR. RUSSERT: Doris Kearns Goodwin said, “What’s the biggest public adversity a person has ever faced?” What’s yours?

SEN. CLINTON: Well, I think we all know that, we lived through it, didn’t we, and it’s something that was very painful and very hurtful [1].

MR. RUSSERT: What did you learn from it?

SEN. CLINTON: Well, you know, first of all, it is who I am as a person. I believe that you have to withstand whatever problems come your way. You have to make the decisions that are best for you. You’re going to get a lot of advice coming from many different quarters to do things that don’t feel right to you, that don’t reflect who you are and what your values are. So you have to be grounded in who you are and what you believe. And you’re not always going to make the right decisions, but you have to be guided by what you think is important, and that’s what I’ve done.

So she didn’t answer either question.  I thought she answered the first (Monica-gate), but if that was so painful and hurtful then why wouldn’t it be Gennifer Flowers or Paula Jones?  Why would any one of those betrayals be a greater public adversity than the other?

Maybe because of that whole impeachment thing.  But she only stated that it was “very painful and very hurtful”; she didn’t say who she felt hurt by — her husband, or the Vast Right Wing Conspiracy?  Neither answer makes me very comfortable; if its the former, then why wouldn’t she leave him or put him in his place?  If it’s the latter, then she’s ignoring the actions of her husband and is just mad at his enemies.  And her whole second answer is a non-answer if I ever heard/read one.

I know, I know; it doesn’t matter what she says, I’m going to oppose it and probably get really angry in the process.  But I’m not all wrong, am I?

Leave a comment

Filed under dumbfounded, lies, married life, politics

Leave a Reply

