I hate to admit it, but…

I was listening to a management-guru podcast the other day, and he said one way to discover what it is that you really want to do with your life is to finish the sentence, “I hate to admit it, but…”

If you answer something like, “I don’t like sharing” then you should find something where you can independently excel. Pretending to like sharing because it’s a social norm will only frustrate you. Seems like reasonable logic…

So what do you secretly hate to admit? Feel free to answer anonymously
(full disclosure: the comments in WordPress are recorded with IP addresses, so if you answer anonymously I might notice you’re from the same IP address as a previous commenter — I have no intentions of disclosing your answers, but don’t tell me anything I don’t want to hear)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “I hate to admit it, but…

  1. KP

    i hate to admit it but i’m starting to agree with you about things that are pretty scary….

  2. thanks for kicking things off KP, I was trying to think of something earlier today to break the ice, and I chickened out.

    how about this: I hate to admit it, but I’m generally pretty lazy. Not like I never do anything, but all things being equal, I’d rather do just enough to get by…

  3. wow, right after I hit submit on that, I thought of another one:

    I hate to admit it, but as much as I preach about liberty and freedom and personal responsibility, I don’t believe that most people are ready for it and I’m afraid of what they’ll do if they get it.

    that said, it’s better than the alternative (authorities telling everyone, including me, what to do all the time).

  4. KP

    I hate to admit it but I’m scared to death of failure. So much so that I am scared to commit in a relationship…there top that shit…

  5. ok, I hate to admit it, but the opening scene from Little Miss Sunshine really strikes a chord with me — I want to believe that all you have to do is decide to be a winner and that inner-winner will be “awaked and unleashed upon the world.” (his “refuse to lose” speech)

    that’s not the part I hate to admit — it’s the fear that all the tools and insights and know-how in the world might not overcome [whatever it is] that’s keeping me from making my dreams come true. the fear that you can see in [Greg Kinnear’s] nervous smile.

    if I pass that on [whether it’s a part of me or not], I’ll feel like I have failed.

  6. KP

    just watched that movie with b and a last nite! it was hilarious!! if only his speech were the truth. i hate to admit it but im a loser!

Leave a Reply

