the uninsured

now, I don’t think the first caricature is very fair — those who can afford health insurance and choose not to buy are just as likely to be joe sixpack as they are to be tea-sipping elites (is that who that first guy is supposed to be?). “…but I don’t want it” is too simplistic; “I can afford it, but it’s not a priority” is probably more realistic.
I know, because I was that guy (with a dash of “Super 18-25 year-old”) for a while. I believe the Kaiser plan I researched at the time was $125/month; but I was indestructable (and playing hockey at the time too, as I recall).

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “the uninsured

  1. Wait, aren’t we entitled to have everything we want without having to make tough choices? Shouldn’t we be able to have two cars AND take a vacation to visit family each year? Shouldn’t I be able to have health care covered and not sacrifice anything for it?
    Hmm…
    Yeah, I was a cash patient for 5 years or so. I never missed a Pap smear and I never went to the health dept. (where I could have received one for much cheaper, not to mention oral contraceptives and a discounted rate).
    There is no doubt in my mind that our health care system needs to be reformed. I just wonder why so many lawyers….

Leave a Reply

