now, with More Updates!

I’ve ditched BlogLines for Google Reader.

  1. You can ‘star’ items as you scan through the posts, and then visit the Starred folder to read everything that actually looked like it might be worth reading.  I suppose you could do the same thing with ‘pinning’ in BlogLines, but this seems more straightforward.
  2. With a flick of the wrist (Shift+S), I can Share any post I’m reading, adding a brief comment if I like.  This may replace 90% of the blogging I intend to do but never get around to.  It posts the Shared items to a blog, which can be aggregated with RSS-goodness, and I have included it’s feed on the right under the heading ‘shared via Google Reader. Rest assured, friends, this is not some automated list of pseudo-related posts, it’s things I’ve actually read and have deemed interesting, funny, or pathetic enough to share with you (sometimes it will be obvious which, and sometimes you’ll have to guess).  If you want to read everything, or add it to your aggregator, it’s here: http://www.google.com/reader/shared/03109981200084942580.

This way, when I don’t post for a day or two (or a week or two), there will still be new content for you to ponder — a view into what I’m reading and thinking.  You can thank me later.

2 Comments

Filed under whatever

2 responses to “now, with More Updates!

  1. I used to use Google Reader, but I had problems with them not updating for hours, sometimes days at a time and them slamming me with updates.

    Let me know how it works out for you, because that was years ago.

  2. Of course, as I go to my Bloglines account I see over 5000 posts in one folder…. grr.

Leave a Reply

